From heliophysics
Jump to: navigation, search

This wiki is specifically for data sharing and discussion forum of the ISEST program. We encourage everyone to upload any data pertaining to ICMEs to this wiki and to discuss events freely in the discussion section of each page. Please do not alter any data that is not yours without the express permission of the uploader. For any questions of using this Wiki, email Phillip Hess at

The ISEST/MiniMax24 (International Study of Earth-Affecting Solar Transients) is one of the four projects of the VarSITI (Variability of the Sun and Its Terrestrial Impact) program, which runs from 2014 to 2018. The VarSITI is the current scientific program of SCOSTEP (Scientific Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Physics.

Goals and objectives: Understand the propagation of solar transients through the space between the Sun and the Earth, and develop space weather prediction capability.

Questions: How do coronal mass ejections (CMEs) and corotating interaction regions (CIRs) propagate and evolve, drive shocks and accelerate energetic particles in the heliosphere?

Data/theory/modeling: Establish a database of Earth -affecting solar transient events including CMEs, CIRs, flares, and energetic particle events based on remote sensing and in-situ observations from an array of spacecraft, run observation campaigns such as MiniMax24, develop empirical, theoretical, and numerical models of CME propagation and prediction, validate models using observations.

Anticipated outcome: A comprehensive database of Earth -affecting solar transients will be created, and space weather prediction capability will be significantly improved.

Co-leaders: Jie Zhang (USA) (, Manuela Temmer (Austria), Nat Gopalswamy (USA)

Working Group Leaders: (1) WG1 (Data Group): Jie Zhang (George Mason University, USA); (2) WG2 (Theory Group): Bojan Vrsnak (Hvar Observatory, Croatia); (3) WG4 (Simulation Group): Fang Shen (CSSAR, China); (4) WG4 (Event Campaign Group): David Webb (Boston College, USA); (5) WG5 (Bs Challenge Group): Spiros Patsourakos (University of Ioannina, Greece); (6) WG6 (SEP Group): Olga Malandraki (National Observatory of Athens, Greece); (7) MiniMax24 Campaign: Manuela Temmer ( University of Graz, Austria)

Scientific Organization Committee members: (1) Ayumi Asai (Kyoto University, Japan); (2) Mario M. Bisi ( RAL, UK); (3) Kyungsuk Cho (KASI; South Korea); (4) Peter Gallagher (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland); (5) Manolis K. Georgoulis (Academy of Athens, Greece); (6) Nat Gopalswamy (co-leader) (NASA/GSFC, USA); (7) Alejandro Lara (National Autonomous University, Mexico); (8) Noe Lugaz (University of New Hampshire, USA); (9) Alexis Rouillard (CNRS/IRAP, France); (10) Nandita Srivastava (Physical Research Lab, India); (11) Manuela Temmer (co-leader) (University of Graz, Austria); (12) Yuri Yermolaev (Space Research Institute, Russia); (13) Yu-Ming Wang (Univ. of Science and Technology, China); (14) David Webb (Boston College, USA); (15) Bojan Vrsnak (Hvar Observatory, Croatia); (16) Jie Zhang (co-leader) (George Mason University, USA)